No pictures please

IMG_1318

The Sunday before we left Paris we celebrated DH’s birthday with a family lunch at his sister’s flat and I was responsible for dessert. I wanted to get a large Paris-Brest (here’s a link to the small version) from Sébastien Gaudard, since I know that DH had been dreaming of it ever since Gaudard first opened.

We went en famille to pick it up and I decided to take a few snaps in the (beautiful) boutique to share the deliciousness with you, dear readers, but sadly they don’t allow photos inside. This is obviously some kind of brand directive since their website only has one landing page and no images as well.

I’ve shared pictures from his shop before, on my Twitter account, but only images taken from outside the window. And even then, I had a scowling sales clerk shaking their head at me from inside the shop!

I completely understand protecting someone’s right to contain information about themselves and restrain the sharing of their personal image — I’ve made a conscious decision not to share images of Little Miss’ face on this blog, because I don’t want the internet to be flooded with pictures when people one day Google her name (can you imagine how uncomfortable that would be when she’s job-hunting?) — but this control over images of patisseries seems a bit much.

We consume sweet confections with our eyes first, so shouldn’t Gaudard be happy that people share the images of his patisseries? His desserts are delicious but it’s not like he’s reinventing the wheel either, there’s nothing that I could say needed be top secret or protected from competitors.

Does it create cachet? I don’t think so. For me, patisseries and sweets are something that should be shared and generously. It gives me a slightly negative feeling to know that my iPhone and Instagram aren’t welcome in his shop.

What do you think?

IMG_1314

IMG_1316

P.S. These are the two images I took before I was asked to stop. And the top image is a picture of Little Miss’ foot and the floor of the boutique after I was cautioned.

P.S.S. The Paris-Brest was à tomber par terre as the French would say. It was very, very good!

Sébastien Gaudard, 22 rue des Martyrs, 75009, Paris. M° Notre-Dame-de-Lorette. Tél: 01 71 18 24 70.

3 thoughts on “No pictures please

  1. I went to a bar in Melbourne – it only fits 15people and standing room only and down a back ally – it was cute and clearly exclusive….but also NO PHOTOS ALLOWED – strange! At the end of the day it was just a bar!

  2. It does seem inappropriate for a young pastry chef to be soooo uptight. I heard him scold a young girl for picking up a package of Coquilcot candies…not like they were chockies or anything. I always sneak pics in there. It’s a mission for me but often I just walk on by. Not a conducive environment for pastry joy. Gimmeabreak.

Leave a Reply

