In celebration of mothers everywhere!

This documentary “birthstory about Ina May Gaskin, one of the world’s most famous midwives, reminds us all about our humble beginnings and how important, singular and precious that moment of birth is!

When I got pregnant in 2011, this book seemed to be an obvious read, except at the time, I really knew nothing about natural childbirth. Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth educated me and gave me the courage to pursue a birth plan that included no interventions, which is ultimately the experience that we had.

This Mother’s Day, I will have a thought for all midwives and childbirth educators who give women the real facts and teach them how to trust their own bodies as well as the birth process. I will have a thought for Ina May Gaskin, Ricki Lake, Marie F. Mongan, and Robert A. Bradley M.D.: authors, filmmakers, and educators who made a difference in my childbirthing experience and allowed me to have the kind of birth I dreamed off, giving me that confident and happy beginning on the day that I became a mother.

For an interview of Mary Wigmore Reynolds, the filmmaker behind “birthstory” read Gwyneth Paltrow’s Goop.com

On this special weekend, I would love to hear about the people who made a difference in your journey to becoming a mother.

And Happy Mother’s Day to all you mothers everywhere!

One thought on “In celebration of mothers everywhere!

Leave a Reply

